Lay’s has gotten a lot of flack for sneaking animal products into their “natural” flavoring. Thanks to some improvements in their recipes and nutrition facts labels, We’ve got some vegan options, including:
As I was raiding my mom’s pantry for some junk food the other night, I came across some Baked BBQ Lays. Those are vegan too right? Wrong! In fact, they wouldn’t even be considered vegetarian. I can’t believe it.
Baked BBQ Lays
Here’s a sound collage I compiled featuring speeches and interviews by fellow vegans Ellen Degeneres, Alicia Silverstone, and Jonathan Balcombe. It’s also accompanied by a hip hop remix of Pachelbel’s Canon in D Major, by Da Kid Word.
Check out these photos I took of some delicious vegan food and some collages I created!
I’ve had several people tell me, “It’s not pizza without the cheese!” The funny thing, is that my favorite take & bake pizza is cheeseless! I’ve only been vegan for two weeks but I’ve been buying this pizza for two years. My best friend Alina, who has been vegan for about three years now, introduced it to me:
1. Amy’s Roasted Vegetable Pizza
The great thing about this particular pizza is that it’s so good, it doesn’t even NEED cheese or in my case, a cheese flavored substitute. The secret is in the sauce. It’s thick, rich, and flavorful. This pizza used to be made by Trader Joe’s and it seemingly disappeared until I discovered it moved over to Amy’s! I have no trouble finding it at any major grocery chain.
2. Pizza Plaza – Oakland, CA
This pizza place offers an extensive vegan pizza menu with everything from barbequed vegan chicken to calzones. I’ve yet to try it, but I plan on it in the near future.
3. Lanesplitter’s – Oakland, CA
This is my favorite pizza place in the bay area, simply because they make their own “Notta Ricotta”, a soy-based cheese substitute. They offer thick sicilian slices (my personal favorite), neopolitan slices, calzones, and eggplant bakes.
In my omnivore past, I’ve had plenty of chef salads. You know, the kind with bacon bits and egg in them! We all know that eggs are certainly not vegan, but those bacon bits might have been. On that note, I present to you, my second “I can’t believe it’s vegan” post:
McCormick’s Bac’n Pieces – Bacon Flavored Bits
Don’t believe me? See for yourself!
And now for something that I can’t believe is NOT vegan:
Actually, I lied. I’ve known exactly what gelatin is made for years now. Gelatin is made animal collagen, and is extracted by boiling animal tissues, bones, and skin. Doesn’t sound very appetizing now does it? Gelatin is everywhere. It’s in lots of sweets, it’s used to develop photos, and is even used to clarify beer. Gelatin can be tricky, because it isn’t as obvious in food products.
Bac’n Pieces™ Bacon Flavored Bits – McCormick: http://www.mccormick.com/Products/Herbs-and-Spices/Other-Items/Bacn-Pieces-Bacon-Flavored-Bits.aspx
How Products Are Made, vol. 5 by Mary McNulty: http://www.madehow.com/Volume-5/Gelatin.html